Hwaryeongjeon Shrine had been preserving the portrait and holding a ceremony for the repose of King Jeongjo, the 22nd king of Joseon. To honor the filial devotion of his father, the 23rd king, King Sunjo, built the hall beside the temporary palace in Suwon-bu Prefecture during the first year of his reign (1801) and called it Hwaryeongjeon Shrine. Hwaryeongjeon originally housed Iancheong (temporary shrine), main hall, Jeonsacheong (storehouse for ceremonial objects), Hyangdaecheong (storage room), Jegigo (storage room for ritual objects), Oesammun, Naesammun, and Junghyeommun gates, and Unhangak Hall, where the portrait of King Jeongjo was enshrined. Among them, Hyangdaecheong and Jegigo located on the south are now gone. King Sunjo wrote down Unhangak on the tablet of the main hall. Most of the buildings here followed the style of Unhangak, the main hall. In particular, Iancheong was connected with a main hall by a roofed corridor, so it did not get wet in the rain and snow. King Sunjo came here and held a party for the local elderly. He also held a ceremony for the repose of King Jeongjo on his birthday and death anniversary. The ceremony continued until the portrait of King Jeongjo was moved to Changdeokgung Palace by Japan in 1920. Unlike other halls, Hwaryeongjeon Shrine in Suwon had the representative style of symmetrical beauty and clear separation of room by function. Except the missing building, this hall was preserved in good condition, representing the architectural style during that period.