This Five-story Stone Pagoda is one of the two that once stood in front of the main Buddhist hall of a Silla temple that has long disappeared. The original name of the temple is unavailable for now. As the temple was located in a village named Janghang-ri, this site is called Janghang-ri Temple Site. The two pagodas were torn down in 1923 by thieves. Of the two, the West Pagoda was restored to nearly its original shape. The body of the first-story and five roof stones are all that remain of the East Pagoda. This 9.1-meter-high pagoda has a two-tier foundation. Columns and pillars are carved on all sides of the brood foundation. The bodies and roofs are made of separate stones. The roofs, which are rather thin and flat, are remarkably upturned at the corners. All the roofs have five-stepped cornices. Only the base remains of the ornamental top portion, or the final and marks on the corners of the eaves suggest that wind-bells hung there. The pagoda is noted for the carving of door shapes on the first story, each of which is flanked by images of Vajradhara, the guardian deity of Buddhism, which appeared for the first time in the first half of the 8th century. Overall proportions and excellent sculpturing make this pagoda a masterpiece of eighth-century Silla pagodas.