Originally located just outside the north gate of Naju, this stone pagoda was transferred to the inside of the former building of Naju County Office in 1915. Some ninety years later, in 2006, the pagoda was moved in front of Mireukjeon Hall at Simhyangsa Temple. Consisting of a three-story main body and two-story stylobate, this pagoda follows the general style of the period.
Each face of the stylobate is engraved with pillar patterns; the bottom tier of the stylobate has patterns only on the edges, while the upper-tier has similar patterns on both the edges and the center. The main body of the pagoda consists of core stones and capstones, each of which is hewn from one separate stone, and tapers sharply upwards. In addition, all the corners of the core stones are engraved with pillar patterns. The thick roof stone has a three-tier cornice and displays slopes gently before turning sharply upwards at the edges of the eaves. Of the upper part of the pagoda, only the finial base and the finial, which resembles an over-turned bowl, remain.
Overall, although it has been defaced and cannot be considered a masterpiece, this three-story pagoda’s well-proportioned structure nonetheless exudes the beauty of simplicity. Judging by its construction style, the pagoda is thought to have been built in the late Goryeo Dynasty.