The Gwallyongsa Temple is one of eight major temples of the Silla period located on the middle of Guryongsan Mountain.
It has many cultural assets and is famous for being set in beautiful scenery.
A story has it that the temple was named by Wonhyo, one of the greatest religious leaders of Silla.
According to the story, the great Buddhist monk and one of his disciples named Songpa were in a 100-day prayer when they saw nine dragons emerge from a pond and soar up to the sky out of pond.
Thus the temple was named 'Gwallyongsa Temple' (which literally means “a temple of dragon sighting”), and the mountain ‘Guryongsan Mountain’ (which simply means the ‘Nine Dragons Mountain’).
In most Buddhist temples, ‘Daeungjeon Hall’ generally refers to the main hall where Sakyamuni Buddha statue is enshrined, but the Daeungjeon Hall of Gwallyongsa Temple is one of the rare exceptions since it houses the Triad of Bhaisajyaguru Buddha, Amitabha Buddha and Sakyamuni Buddha instead.
According to a written record found during a repair work in August 1965, this particular building was built in 1401, in the first year of the reign of King Taejong of the Joseon Dynasty, and burnt down during one of the Japanese Invasions of Korea (1592~1598).
The temple was rebuilt in 1617, in the 9th year of the reign of King Gwanghaegun, and completed in the following year.
This building measures three kan (a unit of measurement referring to the distance between two columns) in the front and another three on the side under a hip-and-gable roof with its side view is counter-wedged.
This is a dapo (multiple column-heads) style that has a number of gongpos (the brackets between a rafter and a column) supporting the eaves of the roof across the pillars.
The ceiling is sharp-shaped with elevated center.