Opinion is divided on the foundation of Magoksa Temple.
Some say it was built by Buddhist Monk Jajang Yulsa in 640, the ninth year of the reign of Queen Seondeok of Silla, while others say Buddhist Monk Museon of Silla built it after returning from Tang China.
It was closed from late Silla to the early days of Goryeo but was rebuilt by State Preceptor Bojo in 1172, the second year of the reign of King Myeongjong of Goryeo.
It then remained dilapidated again for 60 years following the Japanese Invasion of Korea in 1592.
The Buddhist Monk Gaksun rebuilt Daeungjeon Hall, Yeongsanjeon Hall and Daejeokgwangjeon Hall in 1651, the second year of the reign of King Hyojong of Joseon.
Yeongsanjeon Hall is the sanctum enshrined with a Sakyamuni statue and a painting of Buddha's life (The Eight Great Events), also called Cheonbuljeon, because it enshrines a thousand Buddhas.
It was rebuilt along with the temple by Buddhist Monk Gaksun in 1651.
It is situated to the west of Haetalmun Gate, and is the oldest building in Magoksa.
It comprises 5-kan (a unit of measurement referring to the distance between two columns) front space and 3-kan side space and it has a gable roof called matbaejibung.
It is a jusimpo style of building, which the gongpo that supports the eaves of the roof is set up only on the pillars while in the dapo style the gongpo is set up not only on the pillars but also between them.
It is unique in that the end of the extended materials is rolled.
King Sejo inscribed the calligraphy on the hanging board on the front of the building.
The ceiling was decorated with the pattern of Chinese character 井 (jeong).
A well ceiling is typically associated with a dapo style building, though a mixture of jusimpo and dapo styles was adopted here.
With its solid structure, the hall is regarded as an important cultural asset and a source for the study of Joseon architectural history.