Opinion is divided on the foundation of Magoksa Temple.
Some say it was built by Buddhist Monk Jajang Yulsa in 640, the ninth year of the reign of Queen Seondeok of Silla, while others say Buddhist Monk Museon of Silla built it after returning from Tang China.
It was closed from late Silla to the early days of Goryeo but was rebuilt by State Preceptor Bojo in 1172, the second year of the reign of King Myeongjong of Goryeo.
It then remained dilapidated again for 60 years following the Japanese Invasion of Korea in 1592.
The Buddhist Monk Gaksun rebuilt Daeungjeon Hall, Yeongsanjeon Hall and Daejeokgwangjeon Hall in 1651, the second year of the reign of King Hyojong of Joseon.
Daegwangbojeon Hall, the main Buddha Hall of Magoksa Temple, is situated with Haetalmun Gate and Cheonwangmun Gate in a row and enshrined with a Vairocana Buddha, the Buddha of Enlightenment.
Though it is not clear when this hall was first built, it was burnt down, and then rebuilt in the 13th year of the reign of King Sunjo (1813) of Joseon.
It is composed of 5-kan (a unit of measurement referring to the distance between two columns) front space and 3-kan side space.
It has a hip and gable roof called paljakjibung.
The gongpo which supports the eaves of the roof on pillars is set up not only on the pillars but also between them.
This building style is known as dapo style.
They set up three pairs of doors in the five front partitions, its ribs of a lattice door was decorated with the patterns of flowers.
And they engraved the head of dragon on the pillar of center partition.
The ceiling is decorated with patterns of the Chinese character 井 (jeong).
They prepared the Buddhist altar in the west and installed datjib (a canopy) above the altar, which makes the Buddhist statue more dignified.
For its structure, its elaborate decorations, and its architectural style, the hall is regarded as a uniquely important cultural asset for the study of architectural history of late Joseon.