Gwisinsa Temple, first built by Buddhist Monk Uisang in the 16th year of the reign of King Munmu (678) of Silla, once had eight hermitages under its control.
The temple’s Daejeokgwangjeon Hall, presumed to have been rebuilt around the 17th century, enshrines an image of Vairocana Buddha or the Buddha of Enlightenment.
The one-story hall comprises 5-kan (a unit of measurement referring to the distance between two columns) front space and 3-kan side space and it has a gable roof called matbaejibung.
Multi-cluster brackets are placed not only on the columns, but also on the outer tie beams between the columns.
This building style is known as dapo style.
Papered doors with slanted latticed frames are installed on the front 3 kan.
Interestingly, verandas on each side of the building are walled up.
The hall well retains the architectural style of the mid Joseon Dynasty.
The temple has many attractive stone objects including a pedestal decorated with patterns of lotus flowers and various animal-shaped stones.
In addition the temple has historical significance; during the Japanese Invasion of Korea in 1592, it was used as a training ground by patriotic monk soldiers.