According to the temple's records, Geumsansa Temple was first built during the reign of King Beop (600) of Baekje. This building (the Main Buddha Hall) had originally been a wooden pagoda, erected in front of the Mireukjeon Hall. It was used at that time as a place for the Sutras. It was rebuilt in the 13th year of the reign of King Injo (1653) of Joseon and moved to its present site in 1922. It is now used as a hall to enshrine images of Sakyamuni Buddha and his two ablest disciples, Kasyapa and Ananda. A small number of images atop the hall's roof are a vestige of the time when it was a wooden pagoda. The single-story building, with 3-kan (a unit of measurement referring to the distance between two columns) front space and 3-kan side space, has a hip and gable roof called paljakjibung, the most elaborate style of the period. Multi-cluster brackets are installed not only on the column tops, but also on the outer tie beams between the columns. This building style is known as dapo style. Two-tiered brackets are installed atop the columns in the middle section, with single-tiered brackets installed on the top of the columns in each side section. Inside the hall the ceiling is latticed and the sumidan pedestal, on which Sakyamuni Buddha is seated, is elaborately engraved with various designs. Simple as it is in structure, this small, modified building is of great significance to the study of wooden architecture including wooden pagodas.