Located at the foot of Songnisan Mountain, Beopjusa Temple was first built in 553 (14th year of the reign of King Jinheung during the Silla Period) and was rebuilt in 776 (12th year of King Hyegong’s reign). The temple was burnt down during the Japanese invasion in the late 16th century but was restored by Buddhist Monk Byeokam in 1624 (second year of the reign of King Injo of the Joseon Dynasty), undergoing several repairs until it attained its present grandeur. Daeungbojeon Hall is a two-story building, measuring seven kan (unit of measurement referring to the distance between two columns) at the front and four kan at the side and having a hipped-and-gabled roof. The eaves of the building are supported by multi-cluster brackets. A Buddha triad -- Vairocana Buddha, Rocana Buddha, and Sakyamuni Buddha -- is enshrined inside this hall, one of the three biggest Buddhist worship halls in Korea along with Geungnakjeon Hall of Muryangsa Temple and Gakhwangjeon Hall of Hwaeomsa Temple.