Songgwangsa Temple was first built by Master Doui in the 7th year of the reign of King Gyeongmun (867) of the Unified Silla Dynasty. After the progressing deterioration of the temple, State Preceptor Jinul, who was a virtuous Buddhist monk of the mid-Goryeo Dynasty, asked his disciples to build a temple at the site, but his wish had not been honored until monks Eungho, Seungmyeong, Unjeong, Deongnim, Deuksun, and Hongsin built a temple at the site in the 14th year of the reign of King Gwanghaegun of the Joseon Dynasty (1622). The temple went through subsequent renovations and expansions until the 14th year of King Injo’s reign (1636) and grew into a big temple. Sipjagak is a cross-shaped, two-story bell tower for hanging a temple bell. Centering on the center space where the bell is hung, an additional space is extended in four directions -- north, south, east, and west; the roof covering each extended space also converges toward the center, forming a splendid shape. With the temple bell at the center space, the wooden fish, temple drum, and cloud-shaped gong are kept in the extended space. The pillars built under the floor have a round shape or a square shape, whereas those above the floor all have a round shape. This bell tower is the only cross-shaped, two-story pavilion ever built during the Joseon Dynasty; hence its great value.