Seonamsa Temple in Jogyesan Mountain, named Biroam by Monk Ado in 529 (the 7th year of the reign of King Seong of Baekje), was renamed Seonamsa by State Preceptor Doseon in 875 (the 5th year of the reign of King Heongang of Unified Silla).
Later, it became a well-known temple with the help of Monk Uicheon (aka Uigakguksa) during the Goryeo Period (918-1392).
The Main Hall of the temple was destroyed by fire during the Japanese invasion in (1597) and rebuilt in 1660 (the first year of King Hyeonjong’s reign).
It was destroyed again in 1766 (the 42nd year of King Yeongjo’s reign) and rebuilt in 1824 (the 24th year of King Sunjo’s reign).
The Main Hall enshrines a Shakyamuni Buddha image.
Along with nearby Manseru Hall, it is a central part of the temple.
In the front yard are three-tiered stone pagodas (Treasure No. 395) standing side by side.
The main hall (measuring 3 kan* by 3 kan) has minheullim columns (narrower at the top than at the base) supported by natural cornerstones.
The top of the columns is adorned with dragon head-shaped ornaments.
The building, which has a hip and gable roof with gongpo designed to hold up the roof's eaves on a pillar, is set up not only on the pillars but also between them.
The interior structure is finished with lotus bud-shaped ornaments, displaying the gorgeous and ornamental techniques of the late Joseon Period (1392-1910).
The building is deemed academically and historically valuable since it showcases the architectural style prevalent in the later Joseon Period when it was renovated.
(*kan: a unit of measurement referring to the distance between two columns)