This building was constructed as Buddhist sanctum of Geumgangsa Temple, which belonged to the Japanese Caodong Sect of Buddhism that entered Korea together with the Japanese since the opening of ports. Since the 1945 Liberation, it was converted to Dongguan Temple that belonged to Jogye Sect of Buddhism. The building follows the architectural style of Japanese temples. Daeungjeon Hall and monks’ residence are connected via hallway, the roof exhibits steep slope, and horizontally sliding door is installed on the external wall. Although a few inner portions have been changed, the temple still maintains its original form overall.