Changdeokgung, a palace for the Joseon Dynasty, was built in the 5th year of the reign of King Taejong (1405).
It was likely built as a detached palace, since Gyeongbokgung Palace served as a main hall along with Jongmyo Shrine and Sajikdan Altar.
It was rarely used in the beginning because kings usually stayed in Gyeongbokgung Palace for their lives and works.
However, that it had been restored earlier than any other palace after all the palaces were burnt down by Japanese invaders in 1592; it served as the main hall since then.
Although it had been burnt down many times, it was able to maintain the original size of the palace in general since it had been restored and modified in time.
It was divided into three sections: the outer hall where official state functions were performed; the inner hall, which served as the king's and queen's sleeping quarters, and; the rear garden, which served as a place to rest.
Among them, the garden behind the inner hall was considered an excellent example of Korea's traditional naturalistic landscape design.
In 1917, Daejojeon Hall caught fire, causing the buildings and its 19 add-on buildings, including Huijeongdang Hall.
In 1920, Japan had various buildings in Gyeongbokgung Palace demolished and restored to rebuild buildings in Changdeokgung Palace.
The Changdeokgung Palace and the Secret Garden are excellent examples of Korea's traditional, naturalistic landscape design based on harmony with nature and are designated as UNESCO World Heritage.