Skip Navigation

Heritage Search


Jukseoru Pavilion, Samcheok

삼척 죽서루 ( 三陟 竹西樓 )

Heritage Search Detail
Classification Treasure
Name of Cultural Properties Jukseoru Pavilion, Samcheok
Quantity 1 structure
Designated Date 1963.01.21
Age Early Joseon
Address 44, Jukseoru-gil, Samcheok, Gangwon-do

The pavilion is all side-open building with a raised floor, built in harmony with the beautiful natural surroundings. It was assumed to be built by a great scholar named Yi Seung-hyu in 1266, the 7th year of the reign of King Wonjong of Goryeo and then repaired by Kim Hyo-son, mayor of Samcheok, in 1403, the 3rd year of King Taejong of Joseon. Since the repair work, no further changes were made to the pavilion. It was named Jukseoru because of the Jukjangsa Temple and the house of Jukjukseonnye, famous Gisaeng (professional female entertainer) to the east. The pavilion measures seven kan (a unit of measurement referring to the distance between two columns) in the front and two on the side under a hip-and-gable roof. It is presumed that it originally had only five kan in the front. This and the shape of the ceiling hint that the roof was also remodeled at the time of the repair. Gongpos (brackets between a rafter and a column) were used not only for decorative purposes but also to support eaves in a jusimpo style arranged only on the wooden support columns. These gongpos are a testimony to the skills of the carpenters who were hired to build the pavilion. It is also worthwhile to note that the columns have the same height as the natural rock on the side. Other aspects that make this pavilion special are the calligraphic works of some of the most renowned scholars and calligraphers of the time, including Yi I, under the pen-name Yulgok. The word 'Jeilgyejeong', which literally means “the best pavilion on the side of river”, was written by Heo Mok in 1662, the 3rd year of the reign of King Hyeonjong, while ‘Gwandongjeillu’ meaning “the best pavilion in the eastern area”, was written by Yi Seong-jo in 1711, the 37th yearof the reign of King Sukjong. ‘Haeseonyuhuijiso’, meaning “the place where the sea gods come to enjoy”, was written by Yi Gyu-heon in 1837, 3rd year of King Heonjong. Located on a cliff commanding a great view of Dutasan Mountain and the Osipcheon River flowing to the west of Samcheok, the pavilion has long been regarded as one of the Eight Scenic Spots of the eastern part of the Korean Peninsula.