Donhwamun Gate is the front gate of Changdeokgung Palace, one of the five major palaces in Joseon. It was constructed in May, 1412, the 12th year of the reign of King Taejong and burned down in Japanese Invasion of 1592. The gate was rebuilt together with Changdeokgung Palace in the 1st year of the reign of King Gwanghaegun (1609). It is a two-story building with five kan (a unit of measurement referring to the distance between two columns) in the front and two kan at the side, and it has a hip roof, called ujingakjibung, showing a trapezoid shape when viewed from the front. The weight of the roof is supported by column heads on top of and also between the pillars. This is called dapo (multiple column-heads) style. The three kan in the center of the first floor have two doors each but the kan at either end are blocked by the wall. According to a record in the History of the Joseon Dynasty, a bronze bell was hung at the door in the 13th year of the reign of King Taejong (1413), but since the gate has been rebuilt, this can only be imagined. Donhwamun Gate, like Sungnyemun Gate (Namdaemun) and Honghwamun Gate (the front gate of Changgyeonggung Palace), is a cultural asset important for researching the construction style of gates built at the height of the Joseon Dynasty.