Skip Navigation

Heritage Search


Daeungjeon Hall of Ansimsa Temple, Cheongju

청주 안심사 대웅전 ( 淸州 安心寺 大雄殿 )

Heritage Search Detail
Classification Treasure
Name of Cultural Properties Daeungjeon Hall of Ansimsa Temple, Cheongju
Quantity 1 building
Designated Date 1980.06.11
Age Mid-Joseon
Address 169-28, Sadong-gil, Cheongwon-gun, Chungcheongbuk-do

Ansimsa Temple is a small hermitage that belongs to Beopjusa Temple. Ansim means peaceful state of mind. This temple was so named because the monk Jinpyoyulsa educated his students here peaceably in 775, the eleventh year of the reign of King Hyegong of Silla. The National Preceptor, Wonmyeongguksa, rebuilt it in 1325, the twelfth year of the reign of King Chungsuk of Goryeo, and Songamdaesa repaired it in 1626, the fourth year of King Injo of Joseon. However, it is not certain when the temple was first built. Even the Sangnyangmun Gate does not keep any record of this while other facts such as the start and end of construction and participants were recorded. Sangnyangmun was discovered in 1979 when Daeungjeon Hall was renovated. It is estimated that the present Daeungjeon was built in during the reign of King Injo as a tile with the inscription ‘Ganghui Eleventh Year (1672)’ that was found during the renovation indicates. The hall is designed to enshrine a Buddha statue and is composed of three partitioned rooms from the front and two from the side. It is a dapo style of building, in which gongpo that is designed to hold up the eaves of the roof on a pillar is set up not only on the pillars but also between them. The roof was built in matbaejibung style which was the simplest type of roof, though it is supposed to have been built the first time in paljakjibung, the most splendorous roof style, which from the side looks like the caret. It is presumed that the roof style changed as the main body of the building was reduced and transformed through several phases of renovation. The hall provides good examples of transitions in building styles. Eungjinjeon Hall of Bulyeongsa is a similar case. A Buddha triad is enshrined inside the building and another picture of Buddha is hung on the wall. This picture, made in 1652, the third year of King Hyojong’s reign, is painted with a piece of 4.68 cm by 7.5 cm. It was designated as Tangible Cultural Asset No. 51 of Chungcheongbuk-do Province.