Skip Navigation

Heritage Search


Eungjindang Hall of Mihwangsa Temple, Haenam

해남 미황사 응진당 ( 海南 美黃寺 應眞堂 )

Heritage Search Detail
Classification Treasure
Name of Cultural Properties Eungjindang Hall of Mihwangsa Temple, Haenam
Quantity 1
Designated Date 1993.11.19
Age The 27th year of the reign of King Yeongjo of Joseon
Address Mihwangsa Temple 164, Mihwangsa-gil, Songji-myeon, Haenam-gun, Jeollanam-do

Built at the foot of Dalmasan Mountain, Mihwangsa Temple is located at the southernmost tip of the Korean Peninsula. According to the memorial stone at Mihwangsa Temple, the temple was first built in the 8th year of the reign of King Gyeongdeok (749) of the Silla Dynasty. Later, it was burnt down during the Japanese Invasion of Korea in 1592. The current Eungjindang Hall of the temple was rebuilt in the 27th year of King Yeongjo’s reign (1751). Eungjin is another name for Buddha. Arhat or Lohan is Buddha’s disciple who attained enlightenment through long practice. Eungjindang, which is also called Nahanjeon, is a hall for enshrining 16 Arhats or 500 Arhats. A total of 16 Arhats are painted on the inner walls of the temple's Eungjindang Hall, which measures 3 kan (unit of measurement referring to the distance between two columns) on the front side and 2 kan on the lateral side and has a hip and gable roof with “八”-shaped sides. Multi-cluster brackets are placed not only on the column tops but also on the outer tie beams between the columns. This building style is known as dapo style. The upper part of the columns has decorative engravings, showing very well the architectural features of the late Joseon Dynasty.