Skip Navigation

Heritage Search


Bogwangjeon Hall of Daejeonsa Temple, Cheongsong

청송 대전사 보광전 ( 靑松 大典寺 普光殿 )

Heritage Search Detail
Classification Treasure
Name of Cultural Properties Bogwangjeon Hall of Daejeonsa Temple, Cheongsong
Quantity 1
Designated Date 2008.07.28
Address 226, Gongwon-gil, Budong-myeon, Cheongsong-gun, Gyeongsangbuk-do

Daejeonsa Temple is said to have been founded by Master Uisang in 672 (the 12th year of the reign of King Munmu during the Silla Period). According to a construction document written to mark the completion of the wooden frame and raising of the main crossbeam, Bogwangjeon, or the Hall of Universal Light, was built in the fifth lunar month in 1672 (the 13th year of King Hyeonjong’s reign). It means the hall was rebuilt that year after it had been burned down during the Japanese Invasions in the late 16th century. The hall is a two-pillar, five-beam wooden structure measuring three kan (a unit of measurement referring to the distance between two columns) at the front and three kan at the side, standing on granite foundation stones on a granite base. The round columns show slight entasis. The hall has a gabled roof, with flying rafters and double eaves only on the front side, over multi-bracket systems with two bracket arms extending to both the inside and outside in the typical wooden architecture style after the mid-Joseon Dynasty. Its construction date clearly confirmed, the hall represents the multi-bracket wooden architectural style of mid-Joseon. The decorative painting on the interior wooden elements and murals are excellent and successfully maintained in their original condition.