Skip Navigation

Heritage Search


Daeungjeon Hall of Daegoksa Temple, Uiseong

의성 대곡사 대웅전 ( 義城 大谷寺 大雄殿 )

Heritage Search Detail
Classification Treasure
Name of Cultural Properties Daeungjeon Hall of Daegoksa Temple, Uiseong
Quantity 1 building 84.36㎡
Designated Date 2014.07.03
Age Joseon
Address 80, Daegoksa-gil, Dain-myeon, Uiseongo-gun, Gyeongsangbuk-do

There is no early record about the foundation of Daegoksa Temple, although it is generally assumed to have been built in 1368 to honor an Indian monk named Jigong (1300-1363) who traveled extensively in many parts of China (then Yuan) and Korea (then Goryeo) to teach the Buddhist Law. The temple was originally named Daeguksa, but it was burnt down during the Japanese invasion of Korea in1592, and was restored by Tanu in 1605 and renamed Daegoksa, the name by which it is known today
The central dharma hall, or Daeungjeon, of Daegoksa Temple, renovated in 1687 by Seon Master Taejeon, consists of a three-kan* by two-kan structure installed with multiple clusters of decorative brackets and “twin-windowed doors.” The arrangement of the altar and vestiges of a front verandah are regarded as important sources of knowledge on the architectural heritage preserved in the Uiseong area.
(*kan: A unit of measurement referring to the distance between two columns)