It is said that Heungguksa Temple was built by Jinul, a State Preceptor, who was often called by the honor title Bojo, in the 25th year of the reign of King Myeongjong (1195) of the Goryeo Dynasty. During the Japanese Invasion of Korea in 1592, the monks of this temple distinguished themselves by helping Admiral Yi Sun-sin, beating back Japanese enemy. However, the temple was burnt down during the invasion. The present temple was rebuilt in the second year of King Injo’s reign (1624). The Daeungjeon Hall, which enshrines the Sakyamuni Buddha Triad and which can be called the main hall of the temple, was rebuilt when a Buddhist Monk named Gyeteuk repaired and set up the temple in that year. With 3 kan (a unit of measurement referring to the distance between two columns) in the front and 3 kan at the side, it has a hip and gable roof called paljakjibung. The brackets which support the eaves of the roof are set up not only on the pillars but also between them. This is called dapo (multi-column heads) style. The three column-heads placed in between the pillars give a magnificent feeling to the building. The three column-heads on the front are equidistant and there are tall doors decorated with comb-teeth pattern. The ceiling of the inside of the building is decorated with a pattern in the shape of the Chinese character 井 (jeong), and there is a canopy on the ceiling above the Buddha statue. There is also Hanging Scroll Behind the Buddha in Daeungjeon Hall, painted in the 19th year of the reign of King Sukjong (1693) and designated as Treasure No. 578. With its splendid design, inspired atmosphere and well-preserved construction technique, this building is assumed to date from the mid Joseon Dynasty.