Bukjijangsa Temple is known to have been built by the Buddhist Monk Geukdal in 485, the seventh year of the reign of King Soji of Silla. Daeungjeon, the main hall, was built in 1623, the first year of the reign of King Injo of Joseon, but it is assumed that it was originally used as the Geungnakjeon Hall or Jijangjeon Hall. It comprises 1-kan (a unit of measurement referring to the distance between two columns) front space and 2-kan side space, but a quadrilateral pillar placed in the center of the front 1 kan partitions it into the form of 3 kan. It has a hip and gable roof called paljakjibung. The gongpo that supports the eaves of the roof is set up not only on the pillars but also between them. This building style is known as dapo style. Details of this building borrow from the style of mid Joseon, while a dragon carving on the gongpo borrows from late Joseon. For the unique building style of the temple, it is highly regarded as a cultural asset and as a source for the study of Joseon architectural history.