Located at the foot of Songnisan Mountain, Beopjusa Temple was first built in 553 (14th year of the reign of King Jinheung during the Silla Period) and was rebuilt in 776 (12th year of King Hyegong’s reign). The temple was burnt down during the Japanese invasion in the late 16th century but was restored by Buddhist Monk Byeokam in 1624 (second year of the reign of King Injo of the Joseon Dynasty), undergoing several repairs until it attained its present grandeur. Wontongbojeon Hall is a single-story building, measuring three kan (unit of measurement referring to the distance between two columns) at the front and three kan at the side and having a square hipped roof. Brackets are installed only atop the columns to support the eaves of the roof. The Wooden Seated Avalokitesvara Bodhisattva (Treasure No. 1361) is enshrined in this hall. This 2.8-m high statue has an ornamental crown on its head and wears a benign smile on its face. Simple but unique in style, the hall is of great significance to the study of architectural trend of the mid-Joseon Period.